Merlee’s hot! Kooper’s not??

It hasn’t been too warm this summer. In Central Wisconsin we are lucky to get over 80, with some days over and some days under. The only killer here is the damn humidity. Like 50% and higher.

The house smells moldy, the toilet is sweating, the dogs are panting, the chickens are panting. The fat cat is spread eagle on the ground.

20130709-211700.jpgThe hubs and I are a pool of melty, wherever we fall.

The only relief is the kiddie pool… For the dogs that is.

20130709-211907.jpg
Merlee does not need any encouragement to get in the pool.

If he ran twice for a ball; in the kiddie pool.

20130712-105458.jpgIf he walked from house to barn and back; in the kiddie pool.

20130712-105614.jpgIf he wants to get away from Kooper; in the kiddie pool.

20130712-105712.jpg Or back out to have the ball thrown again.

Last week, we were house watching for my folks while they visited my sister. My parent’s have a above ground pool. And I would have thought that Merlee would have enjoyed swimming in it, but he just wanted to get his ball and get out. Whereas Kooper, who will not lay in the kiddie pool unless tempted with hotdog, loved the adult pool, after he stopped trying to drown us.

Kooper is a bit spoiled and when he first experienced the pool, it was after a ball. He was swimming around the cover and Merlee was on top of the cover. But since then, he seems a bit scared of it. Last year he would jump in, swim to me, claw me until I held him, yes, he is a 75+ pound Lab. This year, more of the same but since both the hubs and I were I the pool, we could swim away from him or toss the ball around for him to swim to. His favorite though, was:

20130712-110005.jpgBut Merlee had a ball and kept conveniently dropping it in the pool to get Koop off the floatie.

20130712-110022.jpgBut he is so cute.

20130712-110032.jpgI just love this naughty dog.

After an afternoon at the human pool, I was sunburned, scratched up and the dogs learned to successfully use the ladder without scratching the liner. Love, love, love summer!!!

2 thoughts on “Merlee’s hot! Kooper’s not??

Leave a comment